Pizza!

Who doesn’t love pizza? Seriously, I think pizza should be its own food group. Growing up in Brooklyn, New York, I would be so bold as to say that NY has the best pizza hands down. Thin, dripping with grease, and plenty of good mozzarella cheese.  Here in Maine, especially northern Maine, good pizza is hard to come by. But I digress…

As I said previously we are living a low carb/keto lifestyle, so traditional pizza is out. But wait…no pizza? How can that be? I mean, the biggest reason I am able to stick to this type of eating is that there is so much variety and so many ways to substitute your good ole’ favorites.

A couple weeks ago I discovered a recipe for a low carbohydrate pizza crust and decided to give it a try. The ingredients sounded crazy but what did I have to lose?

The crust is amazing – it’s thin, somewhat chewy like regular crust – it has that dough consistency.

Tonight I was planning on grilling ribs but the weather gods weren’t having any part of that and so plans changed. What else could I make that wouldn’t require thawing out meat at the last minute? Ahhh yes…pizza!

I actually made two of the crusts – one for pizza and one to turn into “breadsticks”.

Here’s a picture of the finished pizza – has cheese, onion, pepper, bacon, pepperoni and some leftover cut up steak. It was so good!

19748617_10211910378586723_1158609565129561898_n

Leave a Reply

