Sugar-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

My family and I are following a low carbohydrate/sugar-free/ketogenic lifestyle. We have chosen this for many reasons, but the biggest reason is that my husband and I have both had gastric bypass surgery.  As a result of the surgery, our dietitian and doctors recommend we limit our carbohydrate intake, eat a decent amount of protein and keep the fats to healthy ones.  (*Disclaimer, I am not a doctor, nor a dietitian. What works for me and or my family might not work for you. Please seek the advice of your physician before starting any new eating lifestyle.)

We still have cravings like anyone else, that doesn’t really go away. At least not for us. I can say that our taste buds have definitely changed since the surgery, but once in a while we still would love a cookie. I am always scouring the internet for new recipes to try as I love to bake/cook. Today the kids asked if I could find a sugar free chocolate chip recipe and make some, so I did.

This is the recipe I found:  almond flour chocolate chip cookies {grain-free}. Go check out her recipe and leave her some love if you try them! Now, this is where I tell you that I did tweak the recipe to suit our needs better.

First off, I used Splenda brown sugar blend instead of regular brown sugar. Secondly, I used Hershey’s sugar-free chocolate chips. And lastly, I added about 1 tablespoon of unsweetened organic shredded coconut.

Per MyFitnessPal’s website after entering the recipe as I made them (btw, I was able to get 36 cookies out of it), this is the breakdown *PER* cookie:

sugar free cookies

You might be saying well that is a lot of calories per cookies and granted it might be, but the carbohydrates after the dietary fiber is subtracted, leaves us with 5 grams of carbs per cookie, which is acceptable for us. I baked off 12 and then put the rest into the freezer so I can pop them out when we desire a cookie and bake them off.  Keep in mind 1 double stuff Oreo cookie has 15 grams of carbohydrates. For that, I could eat 4 of these ones. 1 versus 4. You do the math! 🙂 Of course, I won’t though because 1. I don’t need to eat that many cookies and 2. my little pouch couldn’t hold that many cookies.

So how were they? Well, I’d be hard pressed to know they weren’t full of regular brown sugar. They came out super soft and on the chewy/cakey side. Honestly, they are really yummy!

DSC_0018 (2)copy.jpg

I enjoyed a cookie with a cup of coffee this evening. The boy child gave them a thumbs up and the girl child did as well. Hubby tried one was shocked at how good it was. So that’s 4 thumbs up from us, so I think that says a lot about these.

Eating this way has led me to try a lot of new recipes, and new ingredients (like almond flour and coconut flour) but there are so many options these days that you don’t have to give up all the things you love. If you make a few small adjustments, you can still enjoy a treat, only healthier.

Leave a Reply

