90 Days!

As of today, at this very moment, I have 90 days left before I will graduate with my Associates Degree in Business Administration. 90 Days. Let that sink in! I can hardly believe it.

I always wanted to return to college, not just for myself but to be a role model for my kids and hopefully be able to give them a better childhood with a mom who was at a job she loved and earning a decent wage. I tried a couple times over the years to return but it never panned out for various reasons.

Early in 2015, I decided to look into going back to school, only this time I decided to explore my options of online schooling. After doing some research I settled on a school and applied. It wasn’t long before I received my acceptance letter! In March of 2015, I returned to school to pursue a Associates Degree in Paralegal Studies. I’ve always wanted to work in law/criminal justice field for as long as I can remember. However, after a few months of being in school, I discovered that even though the program/school was accredited, online paralegal programs aren’t acknowledged by the ABA. It was at that point I made the decision to switch majors and go into Business Administration. I didn’t want to waste money and time pursuing a degree that would be useless to me. Due to changing my major, it added in a few months to my schooling but that is okay.

So here I am with 90 days to go. It blows my mind! When I started there were a few times right off the bat that I questioned what I had done and toyed with the idea of quitting. I mean, I had quit before so no one would be surprised, right? But I had these two little people watching me and what message would I send if I up and quit after a couple classes? So I forged on! That’s not to say that quitting didn’t enter my thoughts a few more times over the course of the last two and half years, but it was never more than a fleeting thought. With the passing of each class, I knew I was one step further on my journey and that it would be all worth it.

Then this winter I got the bright idea that things have been going so well (maintaining a 3.85 GPA), why not continue on for my Bachelor’s Degree? So I talked to my school counselor, researched other schools as well as my own again, and once again applied to my school for the Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice. Again, it wasn’t long before I received my acceptance letter.

So approximately one week after I graduate with my Associates, I will return to the virtual classroom to begin my journey to Bachelor’s Degree. Why stop now, right? My only regret is that when I switched from Paralegal that I had gone to Criminal Justice, but I think Business Admin will still serve me well, even in the Criminal Justice field.

I am ridiculously excited about where my schooling is taking me. There is something to be said for making one’s dreams come true. 90 days away from being able to say I am a college graduate. And here’s a little secret, I’ve even thought that perhaps when I am done with my Bachelor’s, maybe, just maybe, I’ll continue on for my Master’s Degree. Only time will tell!

Returning to college at 39, with two kids, one of which has special needs, hasn’t always been easy.  There have been many late nights, many tears, lots of frustration, some disappointing children because mom had to study or get homework done, but at the same time, there’s been a major sense of accomplishment, the best grades of my life, and being able to show my children the importance of school. It’s been so worth it and I’d do it again in a heartbeat…oh wait, I am! LOL

My only wish is that I could be at my school to walk down that aisle and get my diploma handed to me, but I’ll be there in spirit!

Leave a Reply

